Stukeley Federation

Go to


Healthy Schools


Aims of the Curriculum

To encourage pupils to develop a personal code of morals, to be self disciplined and to respect and be tolerant of other races, religions and ways of life.

Education in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Reception Year forms the final year of the ‘Foundation Stage’ most of which takes place in a pre-school setting.

In the Foundation Stage the curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning. There are three prime areas which are:

  1. personal, social and emotional development
  2. physical development
  3. communication and language

There are four specific areas which are:

  1. literacy
  2. mathematics
  3. understanding the world
  4. expressive arts and designs areas

These seven areas of learning provide the framework for planning the Early Years curriculum. They are developed through a lot of practical and play activities. During the Reception Year your child will work towards the early learning goals which outline expectations for most children to reach by the end of the Foundation Stage.