Stukeley Federation


Curriculum Statement


Our aim is to develop children into respectful, tolerant, thoughtful and determined young people, who aren’t afraid to ‘get it wrong’. These individuals will be the scientists, historians, geographers and artists of the future, helped by a carefully thought-out and ambitious curriculum design.  We understand it is vital for every child to succeed academically, but that they also need to develop well personally and socially, if they are going to lead fulfilled and happy professional and personal lives. Our definition of learning is a change in long term memory, with pupils able to retain, recall, transfer and use learning in a range of contexts.

Children will be able to effectively communicate their understanding, enabling them to work cooperatively with their peers and will become independent learners and take responsibility for their learning. They will develop resilience when dealing with challenging concepts, which can be applied to other aspects of their learning and their lives as a whole.


The curriculum is planned as follows:

                                Coverage for each key phase, EYFS, KS1, LKS2, UKS2
Progression of skills map
Assessment opportunities (linked to skills taught)
Key vocabulary for all Key stage phases


The range of experiences we offer support our children academically, and ensure that their spiritual, moral, social and cultural needs are met. We are incredibly proud of our curriculum and the experiences we offer our children. As a result, our children take pride in their school, play an active part in the community and uphold both our Christian and British values; the curriculum provides the skills, knowledge and confidence needed to succeed.

Education in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Reception Year forms the final year of the ‘Foundation Stage’ most of which takes place in a pre-school setting.

In the Foundation Stage the curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning. There are three prime areas which are:

  1. personal, social and emotional development
  2. physical development
  3. communication and language

There are four specific areas which are:

  1. literacy
  2. mathematics
  3. understanding the world
  4. expressive arts and designs areas

These seven areas of learning provide the framework for planning the Early Years curriculum. They are developed through a lot of practical and play activities. During the Reception Year your child will work towards the early learning goals which outline expectations for most children to reach by the end of the Foundation Stage.